HCSS Player of the Year

Now an established institution of 30 plus years, the HCSS Player of the Year is voted for every June by the HCSS membership.

The award was for a long while an effective passport away from Boothferry Park and the KC Stadium, such was the propensity for our winners to transfer away from the Tigers or leave the professional game.

We offer the annual winner a “very lovely trophy” (as quoted by Richard Jobson in 1987), although various incarnations of the trophy have been snaffled by departed centre backs.  Our latest gong lacks history and the scars of being stored at the bottom of a packing case, but is impressive nonetheless.

The current holder of the HCSS POTY Trophy for 2015-16 is MOSES ODUBAJO.

Below is a full list of the past winners of the award.

1983-84: Brian Marwood

1984-85: Billy Whitehurst

1985-86: Bobby Doyle

1986-87: Richard Jobson

1987-88: Tony Norman

1988-89: Wayne Jacobs

1989-90: Andy Payton

1990-91: Andy Payton

1991-92: Alan Fettis

1992-93: David Norton

1993-94: Dean Windass

1994-95: Dean Windass

1995-96: Roy Carroll

1996-97: Duane Darby

1997-98: Warren Joyce

1998-99: Justin Whittle

1999-00: Theodore Whitmore

2000-01: Ian Goodison

2001-02: Gary Alexander

2002-03: John Anderson

2003-04: Damien Delaney

2004-05: Stuart Elliott

2005-06: Boaz Myhill

2006-07: Dean Windass

2007-08: Michael Turner

2008-09: Michael Turner

2009-10: Stephen Hunt

2010-11: Anthony Gerrard

2011-12: James Chester

2012-13: Robbie Brady

2013-14: Curtis Davies

2014-15: Ahmed Elmohamady


1 thought on “HCSS Player of the Year

Leave a Comment